ADC specification

Here is the sub forum used for talking about ideas, implementations and suggestions or typical guidelines.

Further info on extension or the protocol is found at our Wiki
andyhhp

ADC specification

Post by andyhhp » 18 Feb 2010, 20:50

Hello,

I am a hub developer and owner and have implemented ADC in a python-based, distributed hub.

However, I have a couple of queries about the specification (specifically as appears http://adc.sourceforge.net/ADC.html but this is the same as several other documents, including the adcportal wiki)

In section 5, you introduce the BASE messages with the contexts of F,T,C and U. First of all, whats the difference between the U and C of BASE as opposed to the U and C of BAS0? If there is no difference, why are they re-specified.

Also, what happens between F and T from BASE and H and I from BAS0? Are they supposed to superseed the BAS0 commands? (I have not come across a client which deals with "FSUP ADBASE ADTIGR" or "FSID <sid>" correctly even when the client sends ADBASE in its INF string, making F and T irrelevent). In addition to this, F (from hub) from BASE conflicts with F (feature broadcast). I know it is possble to distinguish them by looking forward in the string and working backwards, but this does cause ambiguity - "FSID ABCD" and "FSCH ABCD +TCP4 <blah>" are both valid messages as far as the protocol definition says, and worst of all, F is listed as valid contexts for both of them.

In section 6.1, you show an example Client-Hub handshake. For IINF, the parameters "HU1 HI1" appear but are never defined at all in the document. What do they mean and why dont they appear in the description of the INF parameters? (The reason that this problem comes up is that most clients seem fine to accept a IINF from a hub with the hub bit set in CT, but jUCy dies in agony if these parameters arnt present).